Help against Jarra

• Hello! I'm very new to the game, just got a alpha key through Kalology. I'm looking for some specific help, and while I'm at it I have some general questions as well.

To start, I've played a couple of the free characters this weekend, then spent my first 1200g on Kyra. She seemed like she would fit my play-style. After playing roughly 10 games, I realized very quickly this one fact: Jarra kicks my ass. So, I'm here wondering what I can do to improve. I have been taking the buff that gives me more gold when I fumble the enemy relic carrier, and I usually buy building thorns first so my archer towers are the most annoying last line of defense possible. I like to play defensive primarily, and I'm usually the farthest person back on my team, but I also push forward when the ball is going towards the enemy's goal.

Next I usually buy attack damage or cooldown reduction (can't tell which one I like the more yet). However, anytime I'm against a Jarra I build defense next instead of attack. And then Health if the game goes long enough. Each time a Jarra finds me (alone or with the team) I will die from one complete combo.

What am I doing wrong? Or is she supposed to be that strong (vs Kyra at least)? Should I be building defense earlier? Is it because she costs more, and therefore a more veteran player (ie someone playing for more than one weekend) is playing her and knows what they're doing? Is it because I'm a noob and I need to learn to "git gud scrub"? Or is this just an alpha balance thing that I just gotta wait out?

Last question: How do I do a search in the Breakaway forums for a specific topic? No idea if someone else has posted something similar to this topic already because I couldn't find a search bar. So far I'm loving the game, and any help/tips are more than welcome :D

• Hey man. Looks like Motz already helped you out quite a lot (always ahead of me man..)
    But as a Jarra main. I have one last thing to add.